You are here

Final Day Results; Year-End Tournament – November 14th

A second day of challenging conditions greeted the 80-Plus men who enthusiastically teed off at 9am to see who would take home the LMGA Player of the Year Award. Like yesterday, the game was individual Stableford with 7 Flights, organized by tee choice and handicaps. The individual Flight winners and their scores were: Crews Walden (Club-40), Geoff Ingham (Club-39), Roger Belanger (Combo-43), Don Snyder (Combo-41), Paul Warhola (Medal-39), and Kerry Fosse (Medal-39) with one Club Flight tied with 4 folks at 34.

Combining these scores with the Day 1 scores resulted in the following tournament winners: Paul Lieberman (Club-70), Crews Walden (Club-73), Geoff Ingham (Club-73), Roger Belanger (Combo-85), Tom Stevens (Combo-72), Paul Warhola (Medal-75), and Kerry Fosse (Medal-80). So, the Tee Division winners were: Crews Walden for Club tees (won in a chip-off with Geoff Ingham), Roger Belanger for the Combo tees, and Kerry Fosse for the Medal tees. Congratulations to all our winners. A special SHOUT OUT goes to Roger Belanger and Kerry Fosse who won their flights both days and their Tee Divisions with impressive scores of 85 and 80 respectively, under very trying weather conditions. Now about posting those scores ….

So, after two days of tournament play that capped the 2019 season of Thirsty Thursday play, John Bellucci was able to retain his 1st place lead and edge out Roger Belanger to become the LMGA 2019 Player of the Year. This makes John the first player to win this coveted title more than once, taking home the honors back in 2017. Congratulations to John and Roger on a great 2019 LMGA season.

The 2019 season ended with an Awards Dinner at Plantation in the evening. Thank you, Plantation staff, for a great dinner buffet with a pasta-bar and all our favorite beverages. And thank you out-going President Bob Hainly and Steve Bunn for making the food and refreshments arrangements; it was enjoyed by all. An LMGA business meeting was conducted, the new 2020 LMGA President Frank Schepis and his new Board Members were introduced, golfing awards were presented, and a fascinating talk was presented by Rusty Billingsly, an LMGA member and a former Senior Producer for the Golf Channel. Of special note, Dave Breithaupt was given a Distinguished Service award for all that he has done for the LMGA, ranging from being its initial President to its Communication Director for the past several years. We all thank Dave for his Service to the LMGA!

Now that the 2019 season is over, it’s on to the 2020 season starting next Thursday the 21st with our first Thirsty Thursday play of the year (no rest for the weary)! We will be at Magnolia where the game will be four-man teams that are required to take two or more net-balls on every hole. Sign up soonest to play and get an early start to building up your 2020 season points.