You are here

New Members, Twilight Scrambles Keep Summer Golf Busy

The Wednesday 9-hole Twilight Scrambles are again a popular option for LMGA players, especially when daytime temperatures soar into the high 90s. Although the first two play dates had to be canceled at the last minute due to thunderstorm activity, Scrambles over the past weeks went on as scheduled and continue to see increased turnout.

Summer Scrambles are open to all LMGA members, along with Landings Club golf members not enrolled in LMGA. For an all-inclusive $10 fee, cash prizes are awarded at the end of each round and complimentary beer & soft drinks are provided after play. Teams are assigned depending on player handicaps, and Club pros join in the fun depending on their schedules.

All players are required to sign up through the course clubhouse between 9:00 and 3:00 p.m. on the day of play. Please arrive by 5:30 p.m. and bring cash for payment. No advance registrations are available.

Note: As summer wanes and daylight hours grow short, beginning Aug. 9 the Wednesday Scramble start time will move to 5:45 p.m. sharp.

Summer Scrambles end Aug. 30. The course rotation includes:

Aug. 2 - Magnolia (6:00 p.m.)

Aug. 9 - Marshwood (5:45 p.m.)

Aug. 16 - Deer Creek (5:45 p.m.)

Aug. 23 - Oakridge (5:45 p.m.)

Aug. 30 - Deer Creek (5:45 p.m.)



Regularly scheduled Thursday golf will begin again with a “3-Club Scramble” Fun Day on the Magnolia course Aug. 3. This once-a-year competition challenges each team player to choose and use just three clubs for the entire round.  A beverage cart with beer, soft drinks and snacks will accompany play on the course during and after the round.

The second Thursday of the month, Aug. 10, will host the next-to-last regular BA Cup competition, which will take place on the Deer Creek course.  



LMGA’s active roster has steadily increased in 2023 with the addition of more than two dozen new members. They include:

Robert Burch, Buck Buckner, John Robinson, Chris Becker, Doug Berchtold, John Threlfall,  Mike Parham, Bill Beasley, Fernando Rabell, Daniel Jackson, Richard Shildneck, David Massey, Brian Briggs, Ken Ritz, Chuck Smith, Jim Ulmer, Rick Tallon, Tom Brackett, David Burchstead, Ray Thompson, Brian Piening, Sophus Schanche, Brad Battista, Kevin Wall, Rich Nielson and Paul Brownstein.